Apple season

7741a12a17d411e3ac7c22000a1f96a8_5
I have two apple trees in my front yard – they are pretty tart, but make good sauce. All the school kids that pass by always steal some, take a few bites, and then chuck the remainder further down the yard. I guess I will head out tonight to harvest some to make some applesauce before the kids and the other assorted strangers strip the tree bare.

UPDATE: I have made seven litres of applesauce, and then gave the rest of the apples to friends after saving some for eating out of hand. For my future reference, 12 apples is approximately 4 lbs, making 2 litres.

Leave a Reply

