Overabundance

90f5b6a0ffcf11e2b93522000a1f96b2_5

I have been getting a basket of vegetables delivered weekly from a local farmer. I am currently overrun with beans, both from the farmer and from the few plants I have of my own. So, in an effort to address this overabundance and try something new, I am canning some pickled green and purple beans, a recipe I got from my favourite online canning resource, Food in Jars. I have changed the spice ratio a bit, using less dill seed and adding a pickling spice in lieu of the peppercorns and chili flakes. I confess I have always been nervous about canning beans, having grown up reading about horrific stories where people poison their families with botulism from poorly preserved beans. However, I am going to be brave and try it.

Update: It was a very gloomy day, and this is the best I could do for a photo. The purple beans are kind of brownish green in the brine, which makes sense, but I am sure they will taste delicious. We get to eat them in 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

