#CBR V Review 1: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

200px-Let's_Pretend_This_Never_Happened

I have to admit, Jenny Lawson’s blog post on Beyonce the big metal chicken is by far the funniest thing I have ever read in my whole life. I think that I had run across her blog a few times prior to that post, and then read that story while on my break at work. I shared it with everyone, although my husband didn’t really think it was funny – he spends much of his time sympathizing with Lawson’s “long suffering husband” and fearing that I am getting ideas from Lawson.  This book was the one thing that I asked for on my birthday this year – he did not buy it for me (see previous as to concerns for his sanity), but my mom did. Thanks Mom! My husband got me a bowling ball with his name on it instead (not true).

Anyways.

I really enjoyed this book and have since lent it out to multiple friends, but as a regular reader of the blog, I was already familiar with many of the stories in the book, particularly the latter half of the book. The stories from Lawson’s childhood and early relationship with her husband Victor were the funniest for me. In particular, the chapter about the chocolate laxatives is probably now the second funniest thing I have ever read.

Lawson has a breezy,  jokey writing style and includes a fair number of pictures in the book, as she does on her blog. She talks about a number of her personal challenges with fertility and mental illness throughout the book, although these are generally discussed in a humorous way which reminds me a bit of Carrie Fisher’s autobiographical writing style. She seems to discuss these issues honestly, but overlaid with a “funny filter.” I have been struggling a bit with depression lately myself, so she kind of gives me hope that I will be able to look back at this time in my life and find the humour too.  This is a great book, very funny and warm, and I recommend it to anyone.

2 thoughts on “#CBR V Review 1: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

  1. Pingback: llp’s Review 1: Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson | Cannonball Read V

  2. Pingback: #CBRV Review 23: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh | gentlyfalling

Leave a Reply

